Twitter Problems, with Firefox on Ubuntu.

I don’t really use twitter, but I’m obsessed with this problem I’m having getting it to work in firefox. I can’t unfollow or do some other functions because the javascript fails. What’s driving me crazy is I cant find any info about it either searching Twitter’s help pages, Firefox’s help pages, or the web. I put in a help request to Twitter, describing the javascript errors that I can see using the debug console. I get errors like “setting a property that has only a getter” and “twttr is undefined”. These seem like problems that would have simple fixes, but I can’t figure out why there aren’t hundreds of posts and bug reports about it.

That being said, I found a way to unfollow using the terminal command line in Linux. The solution is here: http://apiwiki.twitter.com/Twitter-REST-API-Method:-friendships%C2%A0destroy and several other places. For a test, I unfollowed the NYTImes with this line: curl -u bnmng:mypassword -d “screen_name=nytimes” http://twitter.com/friendships/destroy.xml

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. David

     /  2009 August 16th

    I just installed Ubuntu this weekend, and I’m having the exact same problem. I set my computer up as a dual-boot system, so I can switch to EvilOS when I run into a problem, but it’s not the best solution. Hopefully someone somewhere figures it out.

    Reply
    • bnmng

       /  2009 October 13th

      I’m still amazed that so few people have posted about this problem. For me, disabling firebug worked.

      Reply
  2. bnmng

     /  2009 August 16th

    Sorry for your trouble but glad to have some company. I’m surprised at how little info I can find about this problem. Maybe there just aren’t that many Ubuntu tweeters.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

