Modified wirelessfix.sh

I don’t know who originated the bash script called wirelessfix.sh, but it’s great solution to common ndiswrapper problems. Thank you.

I expanded on it. With my version if I pass a parameter to the script, it will set the essid to the parameter that I passed. If I run the script without the parameter, it will bring up a less screen with the results of “iwlist eth1 scan”, and upon exit from less will request an essid. Often, I copy the essid from the less page and past it when I exit less. Either way , it will bring up the interface with the essid.

Here’s my wirelessfix.sh:
Note1: In myscript, I commented out “modprobe b44” because it wasn’t doing anything for me. You might need it.
Note2: My interface is eth1. Yours might be different.

#!/bin/bash
ifdown eth1
modprobe -r b44
modprobe -r b43
modprobe -r b43legacy
modprobe -r ssb
modprobe -r ndiswrapper
modprobe ndiswrapper
# removed: modprobe b44
if [ -n “$1” ]; then
sudo iwconfig eth1 essid $1
else
iwlist eth1 scan | less
read -p essid: essid
sudo iwconfig eth1 essid $essid
fi
ifup eth1

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

