Too Much Virtuality

One of my facebook friends has given notice that she’s leaving facebook. Another, recently blogged that she is closing her twitter and tumblr account (wow, I don’t even know what tumblr is), and considers the likelihood of leaving facebook as well.

I think this is what financial guru’s call a “correction”; not a total rejection of on-line connectivity, since neither of these friends has chosen to stop blogging, or emailing. They’ve just decided that things have gone too far, and it’s time to pull back a bit.

I’m not ready to give up my facebook account but I don’t spend nearly as much time playing games as I used to (When I say “used to”, I should note that I’ve only had a Facebook account for a couple of months. It seems like years).

I applaud my friends’ ability to back away. We’re spending too much time in virtual relationships and need make sure we have time for real things.

A quick update, added just minutes after the original post: In the first paragraph I called my friends “facebook” friends. In fact, they’re real friends. I decided to leave the first paragraph alone because it illustrates how wrapped up in the internet I am.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. whereigoreviews

     /  2009 July 7th

    LMAO. I have certainly spoken to you online as much as in person, probably. Weird, isn’t it? I’m going to sell my Macbook, buy a donkey and cart and live in the real world again!
    or not.

    Reply
  2. Really, when pressed, the real reason is that I like getting ACTUALLY drunk instead of just FB drunk. ;-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

