I dislike kneeling protesters; but I dislike racist murderers more

Often, the choice isn’t between something you like and something you dislike. It’s often between something you dislike and something you dislike more.

I dislike national figures protesting during the National Anthem. But I dislike more a president who has harsher words for them then he does for white supremacists. I dislike failure to properly show respect for our nation’s symbols. But I dislike more when people, especially those who never served, misinterpret a silent demonstration as a direct insult to those who lost their lives or abilities to preserve our right to protest.

I also dislike the lack of respect for our nation’s many police officers, most of whom are self-sacrificing public servants who risk their lives for the protections of others. But I dislike more the idea that innocent people killed by racist murderers in uniform isn’t a problem that needs to be addressed.

So as unpleasant as I find Colin Kaepernick’s decision to publicly shirk his show of respect for our National Anthem, I’ll take his side over the side of people who would rather he didn’t do so and also rather the issue he has brought attention to not receive that attention.

It’s unpleasant taking the side of people who get payed much more than they should for playing a game. It’s not the side I like. It’s the side I dislike less.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Would it be OK if I cross-posted this article to WriterBeat.com? There is no fee; I’m simply trying to add more conteznt diversity for our community and I thought this was well-written. I’ll be sure to give you complete credit as the author. If “OK” please let me know via email.

    Autumn
    AutumnCote@WriterBeat.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

