My Upgrade to 8.1 is Not Going Smoothly

Update 2013 October 29: And the solution is here: http://blogs.technet.com/b/dennis_schnell/archive/2013/08/31/windows-8-1-wifi-showing-quot-limitied-quot-or-quot-no-internet-access-quot.aspx?PageIndex=2.
To summarize, if you can’t get online after upgrading to 8.1, or if you can’t get online from certain access points, then this might be the solution: Click the link, search for “Kyle”. Read Kyle’s answer then read the paragraph that starts with, “Hey Kyle! You are the man”. Choosing the Broadcom driver worked for me.

Here’s what happened after the original post: As I said in the original post (below), I refreshed the laptop. That dropped me back to Windows 8.0. I waited until I was at school with some free time before trying to upgrade again, so if it failed again I would be able to use a school computer to chat with a tech. It failed again. This time, the tech said, “Unfortunately, the driver for Windows 8.1 isn’t available [from Acer]”, and suggested that I download the latest driver from Broadcom. But I couldn’t find the latest driver on Broadcom’s site. What I found was a forum reply from August

Hi,

Is there a driver that works properly for Windows version 8.1 preview 64 bit.

for BCM57780

Can you please provide me the link to the correct 64 bit driver?

I am always getting disconnects etc

Thank-you,

Shawn

Sorry, no drivers yet for Windows 8.1, they won’t be available until around the time the OS is available at retail. If you’re having problems with the in-box driver then report it to Microsoft so they’re aware of the issue.

Dave

So I used Kyle’s suggestion and seem to be up and running with 8.1.

Below is the original post.

I upgraded from Windows 8 to Windows 8.1 because Windows Store offered the free upgrade in a big purple tile. Then I couldn’t get on-line as school, and I ended up refreshing Windows IAW advice from Acer’s tech support.

Update to Windows 8.1 for free

I started the upgrade while at school but it took so long that I paused it and finished it at home. Everything seemed fine until I got back to school the next day.

Although I could get online at home, I couldn’t get an IP address from either of the schools’s networks. I tried a few things on my own, asked advice from friends, and then spent an hour or so with Acer in a couple of different sessions over two days. The tech in the last of those sessions gave up and advised me to refresh the laptop. That’s not nearly as bad as wiping your hard disk and reinsalling everything, but it’s still a pain. Refreshing saves your files and re-installs the original configuration plus your Windows Store purchases, but you’re on your own for re-installing any programs you got outside of Windows Store.

The refresh took me back to Windows 8.0, and I will try to upgrade again. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

