Blog Reader / Post Sharer

I’ve been experimenting a way to share posts on my sidebar. Rather than a static blogroll which just lists blog titles or an RSS feed which shows every post from the feed, I want to specifically select the posts that appear on the sidebar. I don’t know if there’s already something out there that does this.

I’m working on a blog reader which lets me select posts. When I choose to share a post, it writes an XML file which includes only those selected posts.

On my blog, I have an RSS widget which reads the file that I created.

My source is a yahoo pipe:

I use the regex module to add a feed title to the beginning of each post. Doing this is useful for a mashup because the feed title would otherwise get lost.

But the source can be any valid feed, either a mashup or a feed from a single blog.

What my reader does is displays all posts from the source feed, each with a “Share” button, which, when pressed, recreates my XML file. The XML file is an RSS feed which only includes posts which I have selected. It doesn’t include posts which have scrolled off my feed, so this isn’t like a bookmarking service which will save bookmarks indefinitely.

The result is on my sidebar, titled “Selected Posts from my Blogroll”.

It only updates when I use it, so my sidebar will be stale if I don’t keep up on it.

The server that this all runs on is at suffolkian.com. My xml output file is http://www.suffolkian.com/bnmng_blogroll/selectposts/selectedposts_bnmng.xml

I’m still just experimenting, but if you want to use this application or help me test it, use the contact form and let me know your user name, email address, desired password, and source feed. This is real low security, so you probably shouldn’t use the same password that you use for your online banking. I’ll make a configuration file for you and email the link to your reader and the link to the xml file that the reader generates. I make no promises that it will work or that you won’t loose your saved posts as I make changes to the code.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

