How can we Avoid Class Warfare …

… with quotes like this floating around (via Bloomberg, via Delong),

“People who don’t have money don’t understand the stress,” said Alan Dlugash, a partner at accounting firm Marks Paneth & Shron LLP in New York who specializes in financial planning for the wealthy. “Could you imagine what it’s like to say I got three kids in private school, I have to think about pulling them out? How do you do that?”

Although, as my wife says, It’s not quite as absurd as it sounds. If I’m a middle class man worried about the cost of maintaining my car, how does my worrying sound to somebody trying to scrape up bus fare to get to work? No matter what class we exist in, we worry about loosing what we have.

But if there’s a lack of understanding between the wealthy and “People who don’t have money”, the burden for resolving that problem lies more with the former than the latter.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I applaud your lack of judgmentalism!

    Reply
    • bnmng

       /  2012 March 1st

      And yours too, thank you. Anybody who ‘likes’ my posts displays a very admirable lack of judgmentalism.

      Reply
  2. Ouch! That actually sounds like something Mitt Romney would say. And I’m a fan of Mitt Romney. ;-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

