Liemail

A while ago, in July, my Sister forwarded an email to me, that had been forwarded by several before her, which said that Oliver North had warned us about Osama Bin Laden in 1987, at a senate hearing, and in turn he was grilled and ridiculed by Democratic senators, with Al Gore leading the pack. In truth, it never happened.

My sister is no dummy, but it’s easy to get caught up in the outrage. She had sent several false, right leaning propaganda emails in the past, but this was the first I replied to. Addressing the Gore/North interview and several others lies contained in that email, I hit Reply All (which included about 20 recipients) and wrote:

> Hello everyone.
>
> Oliver North did not testify about Osama Bin Laden.
> Oliver North did not spend $60000 on a security system
>
> Al Gore did not question Oliver North.
> Bill Clinton did not pressure Israel to release Mohammad Atta.
>

Since that reply, my sister has not sent any more of these propaganda emails and I don’t know if she’s not forwarding them anymore or if she just took me off the list.

I do know that the bullshit propaganda hasn’t stopped. Sasha alerted me to this post in The Mudflats. It’s a long read but a good one.

For those who don’t read it, I offer this quote:

“Don’t believe chain emails, no matter where they come from. Just as you wouldn’t look at graffiti on a bathroom stall and think to yourself “Hey, look! I bet if I call that number, I’ll have a good time!” don’t believe email. Completely false and misleading content could have been added by Uncle Joe’s boss’ cousin’s neighbor to emails that might have actually had some legitimacy at the beginning. If the email gives you a source, CHECK IT. ”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

