Disabling Firebug fixed the Twitter Problem

As I said in my original post about this problem, I don’t use Twitter much. And I pretty much gave up trying to fix my Firefox/Twitter problem until I got a note that a friend was following me (not much to follow; I hadn’t tweeted in months). I looked into it again and I found that the tool I was using to figure the problem out was causing the problem in the first place. Or at least part of the problem. I think that Twitter uses some bad javascript but that it goes unnoticed unless Firebug is enabled, and for some reason Firebug not only reports the problem but causes further problems. I don’t really know what’s going on. All I know is disabling Firebug works for me.

I still can’t figure out why I haven’t found more information on this problem. It would seem that David and I are the only two people in the world who use Twitter and Firefox with Firebug enabled (and I’m only assuming that David does have Firebug enabled. He might have a completely different problem). Maybe others use Firebug and Twitter with no problems, and there’s something else on my system that was a factor.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. hey, do you have any steps to reproduce this problem? I’d love to take a look at it.

    Also, you might want to try out one of the Firebug 1.5 alphas available here:

    http://getfirebug.com/releases/firebug/1.5X/

    Feel free to email me or report the issue on our tracker:

    http://code.google.com/p/fbug/

    Reply
    • bnmng

       /  2009 October 13th

      I just tried to reproduce the problem, but can’t. Now there’s a different, but minor problem with firebug enabled. When I re-enabled firebug, I was still able to un-follow, but the page didn’t update to show that I was no longer following. When I refreshed the page, it reflected the un-follow. Before, I simply could not un-follow.

      To try to reproduce what I had before, enable firebug, then go to twitter and call up the page of someone you’re currently following. Use the drop-down button (the one with the gear and the triangle) to select un-follow. If the problem is reproduced then the drop-down box will close, but you’ll still be following. Twitter’s help pages say that the unfollow might not take effect immediately, so you should run tests with and without to eliminate twitter’s time lag as a cause.

      Reply
  2. that is weird. I tried reproducing this using Firebug 1.5a26 and Firefox 3.6 and couldn’t do it. Following and unfollowing updated Twitter correctly.

    Checking Firebug 1.4.3 with Firefox 3.5.3, it works as well.

    Do you have any other extensions installed that might be conflicting?

    {“result”:”unfollowed”,”success”:true}

    Reply
    • bnmng

       /  2009 October 14th

      Robcee, I appreciate your interest in this. Here’s what I have (I upgrade when Ubuntu tells me to):

      Firefox 3.0.14 with
      Firebug 1.2.0a21x
      Dom Inspector 2.0.0
      Ubuntu Firefox Modifications 0.6
      UnMHT 5.2.0.1

      Adobe Reader 8.0
      Default Plugin
      Demo Print Plugin for unix/linux
      DivX Web Player
      Helix DNA Plugin: RealPlayer G2 Plug-in Compatible
      Java(TM) Plug-in 1.6.0_10-b33
      mpayerplug-in 3.55
      QuickTime Plug-in 7.2.0
      QuickTime Plug-in 7.4.5
      RealPlayer 9
      Shockwave Flash 10.0 r32
      Totem Browser Plugin 2.24.2
      Windows Media Player Plug-in 3.55
      Windows Media Player Plug-in 10 (compatible; Totem) 2.24.2
      Xine Plugin 1.0.2

      Also had the DoD Smart Card plugin but deleted it when I retired. It was probably there when I installed firebug.

      Reply
  3. ok. nothing in that list stands out for me. You are using a development version of Firebug 1.2 though. If you’re keen on sticking with 1.2, I would recommend grabbing the last release in that line:

    (links point to addons.mozilla.org, you will be prompted to install)
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/downloads/file/37452/firebug-1.2.1-fx.xpi

    alternatively, you could try the last stable release of 1.3:

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/downloads/file/47650/firebug-1.3.3-fx.xpi

    or 1.4.3 here:

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/downloads/file/65631/firebug-1.4.3-fx.xpi

    We’ve made a bunch of improvements and added features to the newer reasons you might find useful. Try ’em out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

