Problem with mime type

For a long time, when I typed a directory specification in my run box, instead of the directory opening up in Nautilus, a terminal window would open. I have other user accounts on my laptop and found that my account was the only one with this problem. I want to go on and on about everything I tried but I’ll just cut to the chase: The problem was a file called mimeapps.list in the directory ~/.local/share/applications. The following line was present:

inode/directory=userapp-gnome-terminal-1AGDMU.desktop;

I changed it to

inode/directory=nautilus-folder-handler.desktop;userapp-gnome-terminal-1AGDMU.desktop;

and it fixed it. That 1AGDMU seems like something that might be different on your computer.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

