The Movies

We went to see Star Trek recently. We arrived at the theater at show-time, which means about forty-five minutes before the feature starts. As we sat through one commercial or preview after another, my daughter was very happy to see a preview of the Transformers sequel. I never saw the original so I figured I’d check it out. So I raided her video collection while she’s away touring Europe.

It blew my mind. It blew my mind trying to figure out why my daughter likes this idiotic movie so much. Watching Transformers was like being in a room with a hyperactive five-year-old smashing his toys together yelling “Bam! Bam! Bam! I’m going to rule the world! Bam! Bam! No, I’ll stop you! Bam! Bam! You can’t stop me! Bam! Bam! Bam!”. The entire screenplay could have been written a sixth grader who’s TV broke down one afternoon.

My daughter is smart. She’s doing well in college and managed to save up for a European vacation on a shoe store clerk’s commission. She has a great sense of humor, I can go on and on. But she loves this stupid movie. I just don’t get it.

It may seem like a waste of space at this point to write about a two year old move when I just saw a new theater release. Don’t worry, there’s only two things worth noting about Star Trek:

1) Young Uhura looked hot in her Federation miniskirt.
2) The rest of the movie sucked.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I LOVED the new Star Trek movie! LOVED IT. Have already seen it three times and would gladly go another three times. That said, I totally didn’t get Transformers. At all.

    Thanks for the bug ID, too.

    Reply
  2. bnmng

     /  2009 May 27th

    Ok, I feel bad now. “Sucked” was just my opinion, not necessarily a sign of intelligence or taste. The first statement stands unqualified.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

