Goat Slaughter

My friend, Mark, helped me with my first two kills.  He shot the first one and helped me butcher it, and a week or so later he was with me while I killed my first animal bigger than a duck.  I once killed my car to avoid hitting a dog.  The one I shot was very skiddish and I couldn’t get a good shot at the back of his head.  Goats tend to face what they’re afraid of (literally).  They often run a few steps away and then turn around.  After about fifteen minutes Mark advised me to hit it between the eyes, which I did.  I thought I missed at first (my gun is a 22 revolver).  He didn’t go down fast but he didn’t scream or even act like he was in pain.    But he was stunned and I was able to get a kill shot afterward.  I’m not sure if there was any pain but he seemed less afraid of me after the first shot, so I think his death was OK.

About two weeks ago, I killed the first one by myself.  I got a nice head shot and he went down very quickly.  The butchering was a little difficult without Mark helping, and I slashed my thumb like an idiot.  But I got it done.

I don’t get a thrill from killing.  It usually puts me in bad mood for the rest of the day.  Still, I know that there is nothing I can do to keep my animals from dying.  They will all die someday.  But my animails live relatively free of pain and fear, and get to eat well and run around before dying a death that’s probably better than what their wild cousins can expect.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

